Leadership & Staff

Talented, Dedicated


Rev. Travis Winckler

Travis joined Second Presbyterian Church in January of 2018. He is a graduate of Princeton Theological Seminary and has been selected to participate in the Next Generation Leadership Initiative for gifted young ministers. Travis comes to Second Church after serving congregations in Indiana, New Jersey, and New York City, including Marble Collegiate Church in Manhattan. He has served as a chaplain in a psychiatric hospital in Trenton, New Jersey, participated in the Scholarship and Christianity in Oxford program, Oxford, UK, and studied ethics, theology, and public policy while working on Capitol Hill through the National Capital Semester for Seminarians program in Washington DC. Dedicated to seeking excellence in the craft of preaching, Travis is an Engle Fellow with Princeton Seminary's Joe R. Engle Institute of Preaching. Committed to fostering relationships and building community across the lines that usually divide us, Travis has received training in broad-based community organizing through the Industrial Areas Foundation. Travis, his wife Emily and their two young sons, live in the Tower Grove East neighborhood. He can be contacted at: 314-367-0366 and travis.winckler@secondchurch.net.

Members of the Session

The governing body of a Presbyterian Church is called the Session. It is made up of the Pastor plus the elders in active service. Second Presbyterian has twelve active elders divided into three classes. New elders are elected each year, by the congregation, to replace those whose term has expired. Once ordained, one is always an elder – either active or inactive. The session has authority over all organizations within the local church. The Clerk of Session is nominated and elected by the session annually.

Class of 2020

Michael Eckman
John Leo
David Maltby
Barbara Vindiola

Class of 2019

Barbara Bowyer
Helen Imes
Jesse C. Swanigan
Karen Kelsey

Class of 2018

Rebecca Barnes
Carlene Davis
Katy Gordon
Robert Rembert

Parish Associate

Rev. Donald Cochran


Ellen Schroeder


Claudia Wall


Jean Chouquette, Don Cochran, Patty McClerking, Travis Winckler, Nicole McRae, Dennis Umfleet